laptop-free coffee shops

ashley
5 min readMay 1, 2024

I am conflicted about whether or not to enforce an electronics-free policy at the coffee shop I may never open. This choice is a very niche problem and one that I’ll likely never face given that I don’t even really want to open a coffee shop. Yet here I am, spending hours of my “peak years” dedicating my (very) limited processing power to contemplate it.

The coffee shops I frequent have become somewhat of a third place for me. I spend all of my free mornings at my local coffee shop. On vacation, I make it a point to try out new cafes too. At this point, I’ve visited somewhere between few dozen to maybe a hundred different coffee shops across the US and internationally. I’ve noticed a diverse range in how they feel. These days, I don’t go to cafes for the coffee (although I cannot deny my caffeine addiction). I’ve yet to become a coffee snob, but I am a self-proclaimed vibes critic.

I’ve come to appreciate the intentionality behind the atmosphere cultivated at each establishment. There are cafes that feel so modern and sleek that they almost feel cold and sterile like a hospital. Imagine a space with sharp edges, marble and metals, and business meetings taking place. Then, there are local coffee shops that are cozy, warm, and embody the dark academia aesthetic. Imagine a modern-day Harry Potter dorm full of coffee hipsters, bookshelves filled to the brim with who knows what…

--

--

ashley

23-year-old NYC SWE | Writing about the life lessons I'm learning along the way.