infinite discovery!

ashley
7 min readOct 13, 2024

In April, my friend traveled to Seattle and texted me a photo of a cherry blossom, full bloom in all its glory. He lives in New York too, and so we ogled over the joys of experiencing the onset of the warmer months in the Pacific Northwest with fierce jealousy. It was beautiful, and I longed to be there too.

the text message started this spiral

Later that day, I stepped out of the shower and stood there for just a second longer than usual — just enough time to discover the cherry blossoms outside my own window.

How long had they been there?

the next day | madison square park, april 2024

Let’s go see this new show on broadway!

Let’s try this vegan restaurant uptown!

Let’s go away for the weekend!

In a city like New York, the infinite external sources of entertainment are so LOUD.

What if we could discover exciting things right here? Right now? Do you want to have some fun with me?

Let’s cook that same old recipe we’ve cooked fifty times before but this time really follow the directions, or not!

Let’s walk around the park we go to every day and guess other people’s backstories.

--

--

ashley

23-year-old NYC SWE | Writing about the life lessons I'm learning along the way.